Communication

Communication Skills

Sheffield Promo

I have improved my communication skills throughout the intro module. Some examples of this below are from the Sheffield project and the practising up towards it.

Interviews

Whilst doing the interviews I further learnt just how important communicating can be. An example of me doing it correctly is giving some ideas as well as when I was the director and did the check-in with all the crew on sound and camera. Whilst doing this I improved upon my communication techniques and abilities which were listening and observing and then contributing an idea of which what to do and how to do it.

Sheffield Sports Project

Whilst doing the Sheffield sports project I worked with a partner and with some music department students throughout the project. doing so required a lot of communication and example of this is whilst working with my partner I listened to ideas he had and then either agreed with them or further added to the ideas with other ideas angles for a shot or where to film Sheffield sports related to the project.

I also further improved my communication skills Whilst communicating with the music department. using the following communication techniques were required listening, observation and then contributing an idea or a solution to a problem. An example of this is whilst taking a first listen to the songs the music department students had created just from their ideas of what might work for a Sheffield sports welcome to Sheffield video I gave ideas/alterations to the music talking about how I wanted the pace to go so that it would match up to the actions happening as well as the pace of the video. however I did also ask for a 1 and a half minute piece which after them coming pack a few times for alterations even whilst asking for a 1 and a half minute piece I ended up with a 2 and a half minute pice making editing a little more tedious as I had to cut up to of the soundtracks and pice them together.

Music Department Performances

Whilst filming the performances and beforehand in the planning for it a lot of communication was needed. I feel that I did so effectively. An example of this is whilst planning I observed and listened and then added to or agreed with what the other members of the crew thought about positions for the camera and how it should be filmed. a further example is whilst filming the performances as my role as a camera operator I listened to the director and then made the necessary alterations when needed whilst filming whether that be changing the shot or the camera’s position. it is important to communicate whilst working in a crew because not only will it make the final product of a production more professional it also makes sure that ideas aren’t just ignored which could add further to a production.

Multi-cam project – College Graduation 

I have improved my communication skills throughout the intro module. Some examples of this below are from the multi-cam project and the practising up towards it.

In the pre-production process, I improved upon my communication skills further. An example of this is whilst creating the pre-production documents I communicated well-giving ideas, alterations and contributing potential risks for the health assessment.

In the production process, I improved my communication skills further. An example of this is whilst filming the arrivals I communicated with others about what to film and who.  So that most of the time no one was just filming the same person without knowing.this was important otherwise the same person could have been filmed a lot more than needed where the objective was to film as many different people as possible so the audience could notice themselves/ they children the students.

In the post-production process, I improved my communication skills further. An example of this is whilst editing I communicated with others and once a few ideas were contributed and listened an agreed  upon text format was used for the opening and closing titles. this communication was important as if there had been no communication on this it would have ended in just videos with different titles and fonts which could confuse the audience.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑